New Play With Gary Busey and Warren Beatty (SURPRISE HIT)

I just got back from L.A. where I saw a play called Smokin’ Room.  It’s running through the summer.  It’s really good.  It’ll probably go somewhere off broadway next.  Gary Busey plays Elliot Nevins and Warren Beatty plays Samuel Beckett. NAIL BITE!

excerpt from L.A. Times Magazine (February issue)

Elliot Nevins: “Whyy can’t I get this cloud out of my head today?”

Samuel Beckett: “What were you doing last night?”

E.N.: “I don’t remember.  Driving fast.  And tacos.”

S.B.: “Look look look look look look look look. Look.  Be reasonable.  When was the last time you went to bed not all doped up or you know, like, whatever?”

E.N.: “Damn, Sam!  Damn!

S.B.: “Samuel”

E.N.: “I can’t even talk to you when you’re like this!  Get off your horse! Get off your hooorse!!”

S.B.: “Fuckin’ what?!  You either have the two months rent or you don’t!  Honest, man…I’m sick of these–we are all sick of these games and stories and lies and tales and poems and sonnets fuckin’ essays, summaries, podcasts, journal entries, post-it notes, lipstick on the mirror, smoke signals, invisible ink, inter-office envelopes with info updates about how you can’t get your shit together!!  Get your shit in order or you’re out.  Everyone has already voted and I can only delay it so long.”

E.N.: “But, Sam…we’ve know each other so long…since we were fuckin’ kids, man!  How can you do this to me?”

S.B.: “It’s a cold world and we’re all twisted sisters if you know what I mean.”

E.N. “One more week.  That’s all I need.  Two max…”

silence

2 Responses to New Play With Gary Busey and Warren Beatty (SURPRISE HIT)

  1. Mike C. says:

    I want to see a Gary Busey/Mickey Rourke play.

  2. Laser! (Rachel) says:

    I wish everyone would refer to him as Sam Beckett or even Sammy Beckett

Leave a Reply

