T. Berkeley… Questions, Comments, Concerns

January 12, 2009

clairet

I am posting some links to work by a photographer, Tanyth Berkeley, in the hopes that some of you might already be familiar with her work.  I’m doing lightweight research on her for an upcoming show at SITE Santa Fe, and I would love to incorporate your opinions and reactions into my presentation. Originally from L.A., Tanyth shows at Bellwether Gallery in NYC, and is online through the Saatchi Gallery as well. She works in portrait photography, and it is difficult for me to get a feel for her work without experiencing their actual scale.  She describes her work process as botanical, and tries to seek out subjects whose physical appearances fall far outside of current social norms.  The sexuality of her subjects seem to often dominate the work.  I would be interested to hear any and all reactions to her work, especially by those who may have encountered her photos in a gallery, etc.

http://www.bellwethergallery.com/artistsindex_01.cfm?fid=83

http://www.saatchi-gallery.co.uk/artists/tanyth_berkeley.htm

Do you find her work cliché or compelling? I have to run now to make a Lucy Lippard lecture, but I will check back later, and maybe we can discuss.


These Things, I Have Seen Them With Mine Eyes

January 12, 2009





















(A smattering from New York, Portland, and Buffalo.)